Site Map  |  About  |  Contact Us  |  Calendar
  • You are here:  
  • Home
  • About
Text Size
Increase Font Size
Decrease Font Size

About Clayton County

Clayton County was formed out of Fayette (to the west) and Henry (to the east) in 1858 and was named after Judge Augustin S. Clayton, who served in the Georgia General Assembly. As of 2010, the population was 259,424.  At 143 square miles, Clayton is the third smallest county in the state (out of 159) and the second smallest in the 10-county region, larger only than Rockdale.

A suburban community just minutes south of downtown Atlanta, Clayton County has a relaxed and neighborly feel like a small town, but with all the amenities of a major metropolitan area. An attractive lifestyle, business opportunities, a fine public educational system plus a 4-year college, and numerous excellent healthcare facilities make Clayton County a highly attractive place to live, work and play.

Population and Employment Figures

Do you have a county concern? Contact your County Commissioners and let them know.